So, my language skills videos are not coming out as well as I would like them to, while I spend time bringing them up to par, I want to help you language lovers who liked my very first post. One of the things that I suggested for you to do is watch TV shows and movies in the language that you like, and so I decided to pick a language and do some research. I wanted to find out about some worthwhile movies and TV shows that you can watch to help you at least learn some basics and more importantly familiarize yourselves with the sounds, pronunciations and accents of the language.

This piece is particularly about Japanese, I know that it is a very popular language and culture, so I figured it was the right choice. I asked a few of my Japanese friends and I found many good dramas, and so I chose two popular romantic comedies to write about for the first of my Japanese drama blog series.

The first one is “Hana Yori Dango” it is extremely popular and remakes have been made it a few other languages, it is also known as “Boys before flowers.” It will touch the heart of anyone who has been bullied before and those of you who love an underdog will love the female lead.

This is the image and synopsis (slightly shortened) that I found on MySoju

“Makino is the only poor student at Eitoku Gakuen, the school of the ridiculously rich and privileged that is ruled by F4, a group of four boys who come from extremely powerful families: Domyoji, the leader and heir of the Domyoji World Finance Group; Hanazawa, the introverted son of a large company; Nishikado, a player who is the heir of a tea ceremony school; and Mimasaka, a madam killer with ties to the underground. If a student gets on the F4’s bad side, he/she gets a red notice and is bullied and driven out of school. Makino hopes to pass her days quietly, without drawing any attention to herself, but one day, she stands up to Domyoji in defense of her friend. The next day, Makino gets the dreaded red notice. Even though she is harassed, Makino decides to keep going to school because she is a “tough weed”. She declares war right back on the F4. Her resolve gets the attention of her crush Hanazawa and oddly enough, rouses romantic feelings in her worst enemy, Domyoji.”

My Next recommendation for you romantic comedy lovers is Ikemen Desu Ne, this drama is based on the Korean drama called “You’re Beautiful.” The story line is very similar to the American movie “She’s the man” which was inspired by the Shakespeare play “Twelfth Night.”

Here is a the picture and description that I found on MySoju

The original Korean version aired in 2009 and starred Park Shin Hye, Jang Keun Suk, Lee Hong Ki, and Jung Yong Hwa. The story revolved around a fictional boy band named A.N.JELL. Park Shin Hye played a nun-in-training who has to pose as her twin brother and take his place in the group, leading to a complicated relationship between the group’s members.

I hope you get a chance to watch at least one of these, and I promise you by the end of it you will start to realize that you are picking up words that you didn’t know before watching them.

Next time I will give you two new Japanese recommendations in a different genre.

Keep learning!

Mahsa

