You ever wonder why there are those people in the world who never say “no,” when someone asks them for help? You ever think to yourself “what’s in it for me?” Whether you believe in Karma, or just humanitarianism, or the “you scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours” theory. Helping people unless there is an agenda, is not considered beneficial to many people. Yes, there are people out there who do it just because they want to help someone, but mostly we as humans think of “me” before we think of anyone else (Disclaimer: these statements generally exclude the love of a parent for their child).

Taking the previous paragraph into consideration we can however still say that there are many of you out there who know what is the real, potential, benefit of helping another person. You probably know where I am going with this, but please don’t ruin the ending for everyone else (insert smiley/winking emoticon, here).

For those of you who don’t know the benefit of helping others with generally unselfish motives, it’s pretty simple, you help yourself in the process of helping others. Let’s say for example in my case, I help many of my friends who are learning English. I practice with them, or correct their mistakes, or help them with misunderstandings, and so on. During the process of doing this for the past several months, I found out something about myself. I realized that I would love the opportunity to go to a foreign country and spend a year or two teaching English. I realized a passion in myself that I didn’t even know existed, and I probably never would have if it weren’t for my friends and my helping them and realizing how much I truly enjoy it.

P.S. you don’t know the feeling you can get when someone has a major “light-bulb” moment because of something you explained to them. I get this great rush when I hear someone thank me for clearing up something that was confusing them for the longest time. I hope you get to feel this feeling, if you know someone who is learning something that you know about, help them and see what I mean about the “rush.”

Ready. Set. Help!

Mahsa

